3 Younglings in the Fiery Furnace

Well, u could always end up in an oven. Or have a new album out.

This song obviously refers to Shadrach, Meshach and Abednago of fiery furnace fame from sensational antique book Daniel (attention: non-canonical scroll).

However, the phrase seemingly was used in music in 1931 by one Robert MacGimsey in a song of that name (written as Shadrack). Louis Armstrong and others covered that one (Watch on YT).

Silvester Stewart - of Sly and the Family Stone fame - in time used the phrase in "Loose Booty", a single and title on their 1974 album "Small Talk", where it was repeatedly and rhythmically spoken throughout the length of the song (Watch 2 if u got time).

There are more references, as one should expect. Be warned though, extensive theological knowledge is required for getting that side to it. The three younglings and their prayer are only part of the greek text, acknowledged by the catholic and orthodox churches but not accepted as canon in the hebraic masoretic text, nor in most protestant teh books.

Now at last, hear them perform it to a quite abstracted expressionistic moving illustration.

The BBs

Authors: Adam Yauch, Adam Horowitz, Michael Diamond Performers: Beastie Boys Album: Paul's Boutique Song: Shadrach

Shadrach

Riddle me this brother can you handle it Your style to my style you can't hold a candle to it Equinox symmetry and the balance is right Smokin' and drinkin' on a Tuesday night It's not how you play the game it's how you win it I cheat and steal and sin and I'm a cynic For those about to rock we salute you The dirty thoughts for dirty minds we contribute to I once was lost but now I'm found The music washes over and you're one with the sound Who shall inherit the earth the meek shall I think I'm starting to peak now Al And then the man upstairs well I hope that he cares If I had a penny for my thoughts I'd be a millionaire We're just 3 M.C.'s and we're on the go SHADRACH MESHACH ABEDNAGO

Only 24 hours in a day Only 12 notes a man can play Music for all and not just one people And now we're gonna bust with the Putney Swope sequel More Adidas sneakers that a plumber got pliers Got more suites than Jacoby & Meyers If not for my vices my bugged out desires My year would be good just like Goodyear's tires So I'm out pickin' pockets at the Atlantic Antic And nobody wants to hear you cause your rhymes are so frantic I mix business with pleasure way too much I mean wine and women and song and such I don't get blue I gotta mean red streak You don't pay the band your friends and that's weak Get even like Steven like pulling a Rambo SHADRACH MESHACH ABEDNAGO

Steal from the rich and I'm out robbing banks Give to the poor and I always give thanks Got more stories that J.D. got Salinger I hold the title and you are the challenger I've got money like Charles Dickens Got the girlies in the Coupe like the Colonel's got the chickens Always go out dapper like Harry S. Truman I'm madder than Mad's Alfred E. Newman Never gonna let them say that I don't love you

My noggin is hoggin all kinds of thoughts Adam Yoggin is Yauch and he's rockin of course Smoke the holy chalice got my own religion Rally round the stage and check the funky dope musicians Jerry Lee Swaggert or Jerry Lee Falwell You love Mario Andretti cause he always drives his car well Vicious circle of reality since the day you were born And we love the hot butter on what the popcorn Sippin on wine and mackin Rockin on the stage with all the hands clappin Ride the wave of fate it don't ride me Being very proud to be an M.C. And the man upstairs I hope that he cares If I had a penny for my thoughts I'd be a millionaire Amps and crossovers under my rear hood The bass is bumpin from the back of my Fleetwood They tell us what to do hell no SHADRACH MESHACH ABEDNAGO

 
last updated: 05.04.22, 07:16
menu

Youre not logged in ... Login

April 2024
So.Mo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.Sa.
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
April
Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher
recently modified
Geändert
Inzwischen hat Herr Fidler den Fehler erkannt und korrigiert sowie sich inzwischen bei den LeserInnen entschuldigt. Nur damit das nicht untergeht. Wir haben hier in der....
by StefanL (21.02.22, 09:17)
There has been evidence
that the important and successful ideas in MSFT - like licensing the Unix source code in the 70ies and learning from it and licensing QDOS....
by StefanL (02.01.22, 11:18)
Now
I think I maybe know what you meant. It is the present we know best and the future we invent. And history is mostly used....
by StefanL (02.01.22, 09:51)
???
Hey, it's just a phrase wishing to convey that you're always smarter after the event than before it.
by StefanL (28.12.21, 07:35)
Addendum
Oracle is now mentioned in the English Wikipedia article on teletext and even has its own article here. Electra has one too.
by MaryW (22.12.21, 07:11)
We have grossly erred
At least in point 5. We thought, people would have come to the conclusion that permanently listening to directive voices as an adult is so....
by MaryW (21.12.21, 07:42)
Did not want to spell the names out
Ingrid Thurnher should have been easy, as she is pictured in the article. Harald F. is an insider joke, the only media journalist in Austria,....
by StefanL (19.12.21, 08:45)
...
with four letters it becomes easier though i am not sure with hafi… anyhoo, inms guessing acronyms or whatever this is. *it’s not my steckenpferd
by tobi (24.11.21, 20:49)
Should be
pretty easy to guess from the context and image who HaFi and InTu are. Besides, thx for the hint to the open bold-tag.
by MaryW (22.10.21, 01:16)
Low hanging fruit
1 comment, lower geht es mathematisch schon aber psychosomatisch nicht.
by MaryW (15.10.21, 19:51)
...
da ist wohl ein <b> offen geblieben… und wer oder was sind HF und IT?
by tobi (25.09.21, 10:50)
manche nennen das
low hanging fruits, no?¿
by motzes (25.08.21, 20:33)
Freiwillige Feuerwehr
Wie ist das mit den freiwilligen und den professionellen Feuerwehren? Wenn 4 Häuser brennen und nur 2 Löschzüge da sind, dann gibt es doch eine....
by MaryW (22.07.21, 07:06)
Well
That is a good argument and not to be underestimated. I was convinced a malevolent or rigid social environment (the others) posed the largest obstacle....
by MaryW (18.07.21, 08:54)
Und noch etwas
Die Schutzkleidung ist ein großes Problem. Sie verhindert allzu oft, dass mann mit anderen Säugetieren gut umgehen kann.
by StefanL (26.05.19, 07:09)
Yeah
U get 1 big smile from me 4 that comment! And yes, i do not like embedded except it is good like this. It's like....
by StefanL (19.05.19, 16:30)
Mustererkennung
Just saying. #esc #strachevideo pic.twitter.com/OIhS893CNr— Helene Voglreiter (@HeeLene) May 19, 2019 (Sorry, falls embedded unsocial media unerwünscht ist…)
by tobi (19.05.19, 10:57)
Yeah
That's an adequate comment! Und das erste Zitat ein ganz besonders tolles Beispiel für den "Umschlag von Quantität in Qualität".
by MaryW (15.05.19, 19:57)
...
In the future everyone will be famous for fifteen people. – Momus You’ll always be a planet to me, Mr Bacchus. – Charon Fußnote! Find ick knorke.....
by tobi (15.05.19, 14:07)
...
what about hindsight is 20/20?
by tobi (05.05.19, 14:00)

RSS Feed