Go on and love me, I don't care

Author: Randall Stuart Newman Artist: Randy Newman Album: Sail away Song: Lonely At The Top

Newman allegedly wrote Lonely At The Top for Frank Sinatra. Mojo music magazine asked Newman in 2008 if he was not concerned that Sinatra might take offense at the song's mockery. He replied: "Yeah, it's amazing that I thought he'd do it, and I actually played it for him. But I think he was intelligent enough to laugh at the whole premise of the rich guy at the top who's lonely and unhappy. I played it for Streisand and she said, 'Well ha ha…' She liked it but thought people would believe she meant it. And it suddenly dawns on me that's why I'll never exactly win the love of the American public! They want artists to mean what they say! I don't give them that; I'm interested in something else. I like the way I write and wouldn't change it."

Here in Jamaica we think, Newman is dead right on the song. Even beloved heroes at the top get so detached from other people that most of them can share only with other topsiders and there's just to much competition up there to really be not lonely. And the bigger your world the larger the problem. Think of the son of heaven. Sadest person in the world.

I've been around the world, had my pick of any girl You'd think I'm happy but I'm not Ev'rybody knows my name, But it's just a crazy game, ooh, it's lonely at the top

Listen to the band, they're playing just for me Listen to the people paying just for me All the applause, all the parades And all the money I have made but ooh, it's lonely at the top

Listen all you fools out there, go on and love me, I don't care Ooh, it's lonely at the top

Photograph: Victoria Arocho/AP Photograph: Victoria Arocho/AP

What Mr. Newman does these days, is continue his family's grand tradition of writing film music. Carry on, yeah, and sweeter too.

 
last updated: 05.04.22, 07:16
menu

Youre not logged in ... Login

April 2024
So.Mo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.Sa.
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
April
Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher
recently modified
Geändert
Inzwischen hat Herr Fidler den Fehler erkannt und korrigiert sowie sich inzwischen bei den LeserInnen entschuldigt. Nur damit das nicht untergeht. Wir haben hier in der....
by StefanL (21.02.22, 09:17)
There has been evidence
that the important and successful ideas in MSFT - like licensing the Unix source code in the 70ies and learning from it and licensing QDOS....
by StefanL (02.01.22, 11:18)
Now
I think I maybe know what you meant. It is the present we know best and the future we invent. And history is mostly used....
by StefanL (02.01.22, 09:51)
???
Hey, it's just a phrase wishing to convey that you're always smarter after the event than before it.
by StefanL (28.12.21, 07:35)
Addendum
Oracle is now mentioned in the English Wikipedia article on teletext and even has its own article here. Electra has one too.
by MaryW (22.12.21, 07:11)
We have grossly erred
At least in point 5. We thought, people would have come to the conclusion that permanently listening to directive voices as an adult is so....
by MaryW (21.12.21, 07:42)
Did not want to spell the names out
Ingrid Thurnher should have been easy, as she is pictured in the article. Harald F. is an insider joke, the only media journalist in Austria,....
by StefanL (19.12.21, 08:45)
...
with four letters it becomes easier though i am not sure with hafi… anyhoo, inms guessing acronyms or whatever this is. *it’s not my steckenpferd
by tobi (24.11.21, 20:49)
Should be
pretty easy to guess from the context and image who HaFi and InTu are. Besides, thx for the hint to the open bold-tag.
by MaryW (22.10.21, 01:16)
Low hanging fruit
1 comment, lower geht es mathematisch schon aber psychosomatisch nicht.
by MaryW (15.10.21, 19:51)
...
da ist wohl ein <b> offen geblieben… und wer oder was sind HF und IT?
by tobi (25.09.21, 10:50)
manche nennen das
low hanging fruits, no?¿
by motzes (25.08.21, 20:33)
Freiwillige Feuerwehr
Wie ist das mit den freiwilligen und den professionellen Feuerwehren? Wenn 4 Häuser brennen und nur 2 Löschzüge da sind, dann gibt es doch eine....
by MaryW (22.07.21, 07:06)
Well
That is a good argument and not to be underestimated. I was convinced a malevolent or rigid social environment (the others) posed the largest obstacle....
by MaryW (18.07.21, 08:54)
Und noch etwas
Die Schutzkleidung ist ein großes Problem. Sie verhindert allzu oft, dass mann mit anderen Säugetieren gut umgehen kann.
by StefanL (26.05.19, 07:09)
Yeah
U get 1 big smile from me 4 that comment! And yes, i do not like embedded except it is good like this. It's like....
by StefanL (19.05.19, 16:30)
Mustererkennung
Just saying. #esc #strachevideo pic.twitter.com/OIhS893CNr— Helene Voglreiter (@HeeLene) May 19, 2019 (Sorry, falls embedded unsocial media unerwünscht ist…)
by tobi (19.05.19, 10:57)
Yeah
That's an adequate comment! Und das erste Zitat ein ganz besonders tolles Beispiel für den "Umschlag von Quantität in Qualität".
by MaryW (15.05.19, 19:57)
...
In the future everyone will be famous for fifteen people. – Momus You’ll always be a planet to me, Mr Bacchus. – Charon Fußnote! Find ick knorke.....
by tobi (15.05.19, 14:07)
...
what about hindsight is 20/20?
by tobi (05.05.19, 14:00)

RSS Feed